#SummerKickOff Masasa, Tingloy Island

My first destination of the year.

I’ve been hearing positive reviews about Masasa Beach in Tingloy Island, and they somehow triggered me to visit and experience the the beauty of the place. Masasa is one of the unrated beaches of Batangas Province, yet stunning in beauty. Therefore, I thought of this to be a perfect destination to kick-off my summer. 

My friends who were supposed to be my companions in this adventure called it off a week prior to the departure date. That left me no choice, but to go alone and fulfill my immense wanderlust. Well, I was somewhat excited and challenged since it’s going to be my first time to travel without someone I know.

Nevertheless, fate did not let me go all alone. I met a traveler who offered a package for Masasa Beach. I made a quick transaction with her and gave it a go. I was so thrilled to travel with the people whom I hadn’t known before – it’s something new to me.

It was 3AM when we left Manila going to Anilao, Batangas. The travel took almost 3hrs by a private van.

From the port (Anilao, Mabini), we travelled towards the Tingloy Island by boat. Boat ride is Php 80.00 for one-way.


No private car? No problem. You can reach Tingloy Island by public transports. 

  • Ride a bus from Buendia or Cubao going to Batangas Grand Terminal. Php 130.00.
  • From Grand Terminal, ride a jeepney going to Anilao, Mabini barangay. Php 30.00
  • Ride a tricycle from Mabini barangay to Anilao. Php 30.00
  • Embarked on the boat going to Tingloy Island. Php 80.00 Note: You have to reach the port as early as possible because the trips will stop at 10AM.
  • Get a tricycle going to Masasa beach. Php 20.00

Upon reaching the island, we rode a tricycle going to the Masasa, and we had to treck a few meters to reach our hostel.

The surroundings was peacful and very rural. It was relieved me from the stress of the city. Masasa Beach has an entrance fee of Php 30.00 (Included in the package).

I was so excited to dip in the pristine waters of Masasa that I couldn’t contain it. While the others were prepping for our lunch, a newly met friend and I went to the beach to take some good shots.

Credits to my photographer for this walk away shot.
We ate lunch at about 12:30PM. We had it in a traditional way – boodle fight. 

Boodle fight is the Philippines’ way of eating together using, not utensils, but bare hands, which is normally done during festivals.
We went back to the beach after a fun-filled lunch. Island hopping and snorkeling are one of the allures of Tingloy Island. We didn’t let the day to pass by without seeing the hidden beauty of Tingloy.

Island hopping (with snorkeling) cost Php 1,500.00 good for 4 to 5 persons. 

The boat man brought us to Sepoc Island where a little cave and rockies astounded us.

The cave man of new millenium.

When I was a little boy, I was extremely afraid of deep water (Drowning is not my preferred cause of death. Haha) – one reason why this adventure was so significant to me for it somehow proved my valor and gave me the guts to conquer my fear. Hoorraay! I was able to dive – deep enough that I could almost touch the seafloor. The depth was approximately 15 feet deep. Congratulations, Jethro!

Diving into depths of God’s faithfulness.
The corals were not that impressive, but the locals said that there are part of Masasa beach where the corals are beautiful as the others you see in Palawan.

We returned to the mainland before the sun set down; the waves were getting bigger, anyways (it’s not safe).

From the rising of the sun, ’til its setting down, the name of the Lord is to be praised.
We had our dinner at around 7 in the evening, and soon after, we went back to the shore and pitched our tent. If you don’t want to get a hostel and are yearning to experience the starry night of Tingloy Island, you have an option to bring your own tent, or you can rent one for only Php 200.00.


Day 2

Waking up to the picturesque view of the beach is priceless; the sea breeze was fresh, and the atmosphere was very calm and light. I was hoping to get a chance of staying there longer; no pressure, no stress and carefree.

Good morning, Masasa!
We departed Tingloy Island after taking our breakfast. We left the place early to catch the last boat trip going to Mabini (Last boat trip is 10AM).

Trying the famous Batangas bulalo is part of our tour; hence, we got more excited for lunch.

We stopped by a Bulalo House in Tagaytay. The place was so nice. It has a view where people can look over the famous Taal Volcano. 

It was 8PM when we reached Manila. I was exhausted, yet satisfied.

“Traveling is not only to discover new places; it meets new people”

Leave a Reply

